Opinions

Digital 28-05-2019

test33333ffeefgnfhn

qgqdsfhsffgjsfgnqehqdhdqfhserxffgh<vqsdfgcwvbwdfbwdfbwdfxfgnfsgnfsgn
04-07-2018

Endocrine disruptors: the Everest of bad EU governance

    Given the sensitivity of the issue, I have to be careful and begin by stating that I have no interest, direct or indirect, with any of the players in this dossier which combines all the flaws of today’s...
Agrifood 18-04-2018

The end of multimodal transport?

As the EU moves into the era of "smart mobility", Dan Wolff wonders whatever happened to the idea of multimodal transport. Just because road freight innovates faster than other transport modes doesn't mean policymakers should give up on multimodality, he argues.
Digital 16-03-2018

Your @imagination &is "tomorrow’s &innovation

Digital technologies and communication have the potential to uphold a strong and dynamic internal market fit for the digital age, ultimately making every European citizen’s life much better, writes Antonio López-Istúriz.

EU shift towards a low carbon economy should be socially just

The revision of the Directive governing the operation of the European Emissions Trading System (EU ETS) has been one of the most eventful lawmaking processes in recent years, writes Nikos Mantzaris.
Development Policy 14-07-2017

[8 !APRIL!] Putting to bed Roma myths

Over the last two decades Valeriu Nicolae has heard many opinions about Roma. Here he dissects the best (!) of them.
Armenia 31-03-2017

The modern Armenia must leave nobody behind

Armenia has come a long way since regaining its independence in 1991. Years of steady growth following the collapse of the Soviet Union have significantly raised the living standards of Armenians, writes Gagik Tsarukyan.
Global Europe 30-03-2017

Stop the political point-scoring and take human rights seriously

Are Turkey, Germany and the Netherlands crying wolf on human rights? There’s a legal route for countries that take human rights seriously, writes Başak Çalı.

Workplace cancer prevention must be extended to reprotoxic substances

Putting more than 10 years of paralysis behind it, the European Commission finally launched a revision of the directive on the prevention of occupational cancers in May 2016. Lawmakers can now address reprotoxic substances in the workplace, writes Laurent Vogel.
Europe's East 30-03-2017

The French elections, seen from Ukraine

Ahead of France's presidential election, Ukraine's experience shows that opinion polls may be skewed by underlying hatred of the ruling classes and institutions. Vadym Omelchenko warns that ultra-conservatism stands to gain in the end.
Brexit 29-03-2017

Brexit ‘letter’ is nothing new: What May did not say

After the Trump-like picture of Theresa May signing her Article 50 letter, there was nothing new in her statement in the House of Commons, writes Denis MacShane.
Elections 29-03-2017

European elections: Careful what you promise, citizens are watching

Members of the European Parliament made a number of big promises ahead of the last election, it is time they were held accountable for the pledges they made, write Allan Päll and Petros Fassoulas.
Brexit 29-03-2017

As the UK prepares to leave, is Europe disintegrating after 60 years?

The EU will not necessarily disappear, but it badly needs leaders who would avoid empty slogans, which merely repackage the status quo, and instead propose tangible solutions to everyday problems, writes Sir Michael Leigh.
29-03-2017

Et tu, Britain? Brexit, betrayal and the art of negotiation

Forget about hard, soft or a medium-cooked Brexit: We need to focus on a culturally-intelligent Brexit, writes Peter Alfandary.
Electric cars 28-03-2017

Full electro-mobility will be the next giant leap for Europe

We are on the cusp of the age of electro-mobility. Now we need concerted action from policymakers to ensure it really does become a reality, writes Nicolas Erb.
Global Europe 28-03-2017

Now is not the time to isolate Belarus

The EU can encourage change in Belarus by offering support and closer ties. Punitive moves to sever ties with Minsk will undo much of the progress that has already been made, writes Igor Merheim-Eyre.
27-03-2017

An invitation to invest in Moldova’s media market

Ensuring a more diverse media landscape is key, and Western media are invited to invest in Moldova, writes Pavel Filip, the prime minister of Moldova.
Politics 27-03-2017

Lobby transparency reform: Here we go again

Scandals from Dieselgate to tobacco, glyphosate to high finance, have contributed to widespread public cynicism over the power of lobbyists in the EU. Campaigners are facing the upcoming EU lobby transparency negotiations with a mixture of weary resignation and apprehension, writes Vicky Cann.
Agrifood 24-03-2017

Glyphosate and the crucial battle for independent science

At its core, the political battle for transparency about the herbicide glyphosate is actually a battle for independent science and for the transparent and democratic functioning of the EU institutions, write five Greens/EFA MEPs
Future EU 24-03-2017

A very happy birthday to the European Union

There will be a sombre atmosphere when EU leaders gather in Rome later today (24 March). Just a few days after the summit, the UK will trigger Article 50. But now the bloc is tasked with rekindling public support for integration, so let’s toast its future, writes Fraser Cameron.
24-03-2017

10 reasons why the EU has been good for children

Whatever decisions the EU makes about its future at the Rome summit and beyond, it should recognise the improvements to the lives of children as one if its great achievements and make this a foundation for future action, writes Jana Hainsworth.
Enlargement 24-03-2017

Who provokes, who rules, who benefits?

Turkey, or let us say the Turkish president and the government, continues losing prestige in the West with his aggressive and provocative approach. Zakir Gul asks, is Erdoğan paving the way for a one-man-rule presidency with the upcoming constitutional referendum in Turkey?
Future EU 24-03-2017

Sixty years on, we must write a new chapter in our shared history

This is no time for nostalgia. The 60th anniversary celebrations of the Treaty of Rome are a chance to start a new chapter in Europe’s history, write Philippe Lamberts and Ska Keller.

Want to know what's going on in the EU Capitals daily? Subscribe now to our new 9am newsletter.