Opinions

Promoted content
Economy & Jobs 17-06-2020

Ajax opinion 1

The Eurogroup was ready to give its blessing to Spain’s amended budget for 2017 during its meeting on 26 January. In an interview with radio Onda Cero, the leader of the Partido Popular (PP) expressed his concern about an election...
#Media4EU 16-06-2020

opinion cache 1

Blah blah blah
30-09-2019

same-name-test

this goes in opinion type
Alcohol 30-09-2019

same-name-test

n1 – section all news
Agrifood 30-09-2019

name-test

this is the second article added from news
23-08-2019
Digital 28-05-2019

test33333ffeefgnfhn

qgqdsfhsffgjsfgnqehqdhdqfhserxffgh<vqsdfgcwvbwdfbwdfbwdfxfgnfsgnfsgn
04-07-2018

Endocrine disruptors: the Everest of bad EU governance

    Given the sensitivity of the issue, I have to be careful and begin by stating that I have no interest, direct or indirect, with any of the players in this dossier which combines all the flaws of today’s...
Agrifood 18-04-2018

The end of multimodal transport?

As the EU moves into the era of "smart mobility", Dan Wolff wonders whatever happened to the idea of multimodal transport. Just because road freight innovates faster than other transport modes doesn't mean policymakers should give up on multimodality, he argues.
Digital 16-03-2018

Your @imagination &is "tomorrow’s &innovation

Digital technologies and communication have the potential to uphold a strong and dynamic internal market fit for the digital age, ultimately making every European citizen’s life much better, writes Antonio López-Istúriz.

EU shift towards a low carbon economy should be socially just

The revision of the Directive governing the operation of the European Emissions Trading System (EU ETS) has been one of the most eventful lawmaking processes in recent years, writes Nikos Mantzaris.
Development Policy 14-07-2017

[8 !APRIL!] Putting to bed Roma myths

Over the last two decades Valeriu Nicolae has heard many opinions about Roma. Here he dissects the best (!) of them.
Armenia 31-03-2017

The modern Armenia must leave nobody behind

Armenia has come a long way since regaining its independence in 1991. Years of steady growth following the collapse of the Soviet Union have significantly raised the living standards of Armenians, writes Gagik Tsarukyan.
Global Europe 30-03-2017

Stop the political point-scoring and take human rights seriously

Are Turkey, Germany and the Netherlands crying wolf on human rights? There’s a legal route for countries that take human rights seriously, writes Başak Çalı.

Workplace cancer prevention must be extended to reprotoxic substances

Putting more than 10 years of paralysis behind it, the European Commission finally launched a revision of the directive on the prevention of occupational cancers in May 2016. Lawmakers can now address reprotoxic substances in the workplace, writes Laurent Vogel.
Europe's East 30-03-2017

The French elections, seen from Ukraine

Ahead of France's presidential election, Ukraine's experience shows that opinion polls may be skewed by underlying hatred of the ruling classes and institutions. Vadym Omelchenko warns that ultra-conservatism stands to gain in the end.
Brexit 29-03-2017

Brexit ‘letter’ is nothing new: What May did not say

After the Trump-like picture of Theresa May signing her Article 50 letter, there was nothing new in her statement in the House of Commons, writes Denis MacShane.
Elections 29-03-2017

European elections: Careful what you promise, citizens are watching

Members of the European Parliament made a number of big promises ahead of the last election, it is time they were held accountable for the pledges they made, write Allan Päll and Petros Fassoulas.
Brexit 29-03-2017

As the UK prepares to leave, is Europe disintegrating after 60 years?

The EU will not necessarily disappear, but it badly needs leaders who would avoid empty slogans, which merely repackage the status quo, and instead propose tangible solutions to everyday problems, writes Sir Michael Leigh.
29-03-2017

Et tu, Britain? Brexit, betrayal and the art of negotiation

Forget about hard, soft or a medium-cooked Brexit: We need to focus on a culturally-intelligent Brexit, writes Peter Alfandary.
Electric cars 28-03-2017

Full electro-mobility will be the next giant leap for Europe

We are on the cusp of the age of electro-mobility. Now we need concerted action from policymakers to ensure it really does become a reality, writes Nicolas Erb.
Global Europe 28-03-2017

Now is not the time to isolate Belarus

The EU can encourage change in Belarus by offering support and closer ties. Punitive moves to sever ties with Minsk will undo much of the progress that has already been made, writes Igor Merheim-Eyre.
27-03-2017

An invitation to invest in Moldova’s media market

Ensuring a more diverse media landscape is key, and Western media are invited to invest in Moldova, writes Pavel Filip, the prime minister of Moldova.
Contribute